Regional Information about Oulu South

Information about Oulu South region


Oulu South – growth and development

Oulu South is a cooperation area of 14 municipalities and towns and three subregions located in the southern part of Northern Ostrobothnia, in the area of three river valleys: Siikajoki, Pyhäjoki and Kalajoki. The number of inhabitants in the area, approximately 90 000, is a quarter of all population living in Northern Ostrobothnia. About 33 per cent of the population is under 25 years of age. Oulu South region consists of three subregions, Haapavesi-Siikalatva, Ylivieska and Nivala-Haapajärvi, which operate as predecessors of regional development work.

Ylivieska subregion – centre of trade, tourism and enterprising

The Bay of Bothnia coast, river valleys, main road sides and Ostrobothnian railway – the Ylivieska subregion is located by the routes. Ylivieska town is a centre of trade, Oulainen town has a concentration of welfare and health care, Kalajoki town is known by its tourism. In Alavieska and Merijärvi municipalities can be found many-sided enterprising, Sievi municipality is a small industrial miracle.

Nivala-Haapajärvi and Haapavesi-Siikalatva subregions – modern country side and industry

The surroundings of the geographical mid-point of Finland is for its part a modern, industrialized country side. It is known before all by milk and meat production as well as by metal and wood industry. To the Nivala-Haapajärvi subregion belong Nivala, Haapajärvi and Pyhäjärvi towns, and Reisjärvi and Kärsämäki municipalities. The Haapavesi-Siikalatva subregion, which reaches out around the geographical mid-point of Finland, is equal as Haapavesi town, Pyhäntä and Siikalatva municipalities.